Home > Anarchy, art, communication, education, Facebook, New York, People, Politics > It started out innocently, but they had to call out the edu-proletariate terrorist in me…

It started out innocently, but they had to call out the edu-proletariate terrorist in me…

In a suggestion to Shillington School of Design…

Daniel Damian Mendez
1. allow comments and moderate- this could have easily been a comment and not a discussion topic- but there’s no other way to get the word to whoever runs this for Shill

2. I got an e mail for the open house and I have Gmail, so it’s easy enough to click the “add to calendar” option there- I think Facebook has a similar “Event” option? Look into it, I would have liked to do it here since I dont have Gmail open all day like I do facebook.

10 hours ago

Shillington Good idea Daniel
I will look into it creating it as an event. We used to do so when this page was a group – it’s just all a bit new.

Still unsure about the comments section as the majority of the comments ended up being questions that were on are on the FAQs section of the websites. It gets pretty time consuming answering the same things again and again as Jools and I are usually pretty flat out with our roles (I’m the Studio Manager in Australia and Julian is the Studio Manager in the UK). We don’t want this to take over from the websites or from people contacting Shillington directly and the discussions section does work as I’ve seen this and have responded!!

Cheers

Jen

4 hours ago · Report

Shillington There we go! You should have received notification of the event now. It’s not quite the same as setting it up as an individual/group as it doesn’t allow you to invite people but it should still work and you should be able to ‘attend’.
We’ll ensure this is done for all future Open House / Open Night Presentations.

Cheers Daniel!

4 hours ago · Report

Daniel Damian Mendez
Quick response! Cheers right back at ya! I see the point about not taking away from the actual site- perhaps a simple link to the site would do.
Since I know you’re actually listening- I had an afterthought I figure why not throw it out there now…

I’m in New York as you might be able to see- Personally I love what Shillington is offering, and I would love to go, but am financially unable to. I’m sure I’m not the only one in NY who has thought to themselves how unfortunate it is Shillington does not offer the Financial Aid a College might. The “Payment Plan” that is offered, though appreciated, isn’t a feasible option for a “working” artist such as myself, again, I know I’m not alone in that respect.

So what I thought was, seeing how for example, Parsons School of Design, here in NY (which I plan on applying to- but would gladly pre-empt with Shillington if I could) requires a project be submitted with one’s application- and seeing how also here in the states the recession is still major news- why doesn’t Shillington have a contest for a scholarship of sorts, either awarding a full scholarship and/or levels of reduced tuition for those who are financially constrained and who would, as you advertise to, like to change career paths to a creative field.

Applicants can submit their financial information and again, you can have one winner who qualifies for a full scholarship and two or three runners up who qualify for reduced tuition based on their financial situation.

It would serve both as great marketing for Shillington in the U.S., as a philanthropic effort of sorts, and as a great investment- since you can require someone who does take a scholarship to enter into a contract to work for Shillington ( I happened to see some advertisements for open teaching positions at NY’s Shillington) for a period of time before going on to pursue their career in design. Say a year?

It would also look great for Shillington to show they won’t only train you to succeed in design, but will jump at the chance to hold on to one of their own graduates. It shows confidence in your own training.

Am I an idea man or what?

I should get tuition deferment for this alone – wink wink.

3 hours ago · Delete Post

Jennifer ‘Boogaloo Joe’ Long
Hey Daniel,
(Replying in my ‘true form’ here)

Being an ex-student myself from quite a few years ago I know that it’s not always easy to come up with the funds for the course so I do empathize (see, I’m even doing the US spelling just for you). However, as a private institution we soley rely on the tuition fees to enable us to run the courses and offering scholarships just isn’t a feasible option, at this stage anyway.

With regards to teachers at Shillington, we do require lecturers/designers who have industry experience and can’t just take on ex-students straight out of the course. Obviously if they’ve done a number of years in the industry and then come back and work with us that’s another matter.

I can only suggest that if you do have limited funds you should look at doing the course part-time as that does allow you to work and also spreads the payments over a longer period of time.

Cheers for the ideas / suggestions. You are an ideas man indeed 🙂

Jen

about an hour ago · Report

54 minutes ago · Report

Daniel Damian Mendez
I understand and thanks again for the prompt response, despite the cold hard cash in hand sense of it.
I can only suggest, I cant make an organization see the cost/benefit ratio of one to three students on scholarship a year. Hardly an amount that would break the bank.

Understandable about the experience required for lecturers, but paid internship and assistants I’m sure exist as well, and you could apply some imagination to my suggestion instead of cutting it down completely.

If I may before I move on entirely…

For every one student on scholarship, you would have several, if not hundreds of entrants generating free publicity, free marketing, and immeasurable interest in your school. Soon enough you will have to expand to accommodate the interest.

A reality show rivaling the popularity of Project Runway, Top Design or CMYK: America’s Next Top Graphic Designer ensues… which we all know, is as lucrative as it gets.

You dismiss the idea very politely, but I wonder, do you see that by offering a much needed gift like this, here, in a city that needs it as much as NY does, you increase demand for your product, and can, and should, by all business models, incrementally increase the price of tuition per applicant- and end up with a larger profit margin far from the perceived loss you attributed to the idea initially.

I’ll say no more. Run it by a professional, I’m confident they agree with the positive effect it would have across the board.

Thanks for reading and should you reconsider, I’d be flattered and of course, glad to help.

In closing, from a personal perspective, I appreciate the vote of confidence in your payment plan when applied to your part time schedule- but thats the one I was referring to being rather out of reach – unless one comes from money. If I recall quite clearly, my enthusiasm dieing rather quickly after receiving the brochure in the mail and I saw the figures… $5,000 by day 1, and $200 per week after the second or third week of attendance? I’m a NYC employee, one of MANY, and the larger percentage of the population in NY makes under a livable wage… I make under 40k a year- do you really know what you’re asking a person to live on, and pay rent on, when you suggest that so casually? I mean no offense, but I don’t think you really do.

But it’s nice to know those born with trust funds, those who were lucky enough to have parents who put them through school and have misused their degrees in their better paying jobs, can make a small sacrifice and take advantage of your school’s benefits, better their lives and further the divide between the working poor who couldnt, and the wealthy-er in America. The impression that education is supposed to help to improve the lives of those who need it sort of dies a little when reading your very polite response I must say.

So without mincing words, as it is, I hope you are aware, it seems as if your school only offers itself to the wealthy and very financially comfortable in a city where the majority of talent goes wasted because of exclusion such as that. I say these things, not so much for myself, as I am an adult who is used to this kind of thing in a city, and a country like mine, and long since prepared to swim against the tide and do what I can on my own to try and get to where others get to easily- but more so for the kids who are coming up, born to working-poor, not-formally-educated, and divorced immigrant parents like mine were, who wont have the opportunity to get ahead because… well because of the answer you provided, without compromise.

Again, apologies, but I’m sure you understand, I have to let you have an ear full. I know it’s not your problem.

May you continue to do well. Hopefully at some “stage” as you put it, you’ll see fit to show some consideration to the community surrounding the one you choose to put your school in and make a real difference, rather than just make money from those who have it. I hope that one day I do have the opportunity to attend your school, but more so I hope I can implement my own initiative Maybe one like Graffitti Park- link available on my FB page) to fill in the gap you are ignoring- without the need of it.

Thank you, if for nothing else, the motivation to change things.

Daniel DM921

>>> I’ll comment more on this tomorrow

  1. January 5, 2012 at 09:24

    Incredible work on this follow up blog. You’ve really poured your heart into these blogs!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

